Our Constitution

Crawley Swimming Club was founded in 1964 by a group of then, new residents of what was Crawley New Town. The Club had considerable support from both the New Towns Development Commission and James Longley and Sons, a builder responsible for many Crawley developments, including the Leisure Centre in Haslet Avenue. The club was established as an unincorporated association affiliated to the Amateur Swimming Association [ASA].

The club continues to operate as unincorporated association, now affiliated to the successor organisation to the ASA – Swim England. The club’s governing document is our constitution; based on a ASA/Swim England Template. The Constitution was last revised in September 2008 and has been amended in August 2010, September 2014 and lastly in July 2019.

At an Extra General Meeting held on 22nd March 2022, the options for the longer term development of our club were discussed and the decision was made that the club should pursue charitable status as a Charitable Incorporated Organisation, regulated by the Charity Commission. Our application was approved by them on 20th June 2022.

The club is now run by a board of trustees who are as follows:

Co-Chair: Brian Wilson

Co-Chair: Scott Jakins

Secretary: Zoe Spencer

Treasurer: Gordon Dudman

Trustees: Dan Valovin, Zuzana Lazarova, Geraldine Newnham, Alison Penfold, Vanessa Sultana, Paul Field, Andy Rigg and Sharon Traynor.

Click here to view our constitution.